Power StationsWORLDWIDETHE GLOBAL EDITION 01
Map of 11 power plants in Uganda, coloured by fuel and sized by capacity
← Country directoryUGA / COUNTRY PROFILE

Power plants in Uganda

11 power-plant records · 773 MW reported capacity

  • Hydro 55%
  • Solar 27%
  • Biomass 9%
Explore Uganda on the map

Uganda at a glance

Power-plant records
11
Reported capacity
773 MW
Renewable electricity (2024)
97.1%
Most records
Hydro, Solar
Capital
Kampala

Records by technology

Counts records, not generation share · coverage & dates

Reported capacity is the rated size of the listed installations, not electricity being produced now. Source dates and coverage differ, so newer facilities may be absent and historical records may remain.

How electricity works in Uganda

Single buyerOne state buyer, private generators

Hydro on the Nile, including Karuma and Isimba, supplies most power.

  1. GenerationState utility + private producers
  2. TransmissionOne state buyer
  3. DistributionUtility networks
  4. CustomersRegulated tariffs

Who regulates

  • ERAEnergy regulator

Who controls the grid

State-owned UETCL runs transmission and is the single buyer; UEDCL took over distribution from Umeme in 2025.

Markets & power exchanges

No open power exchange: producers sell to the single buyer under long-term contracts.

Regional grid

  • Eastern Africa Power PoolRegional grid

    Member of the Eastern Africa Power Pool, which coordinates cross-border lines and power trade between eastern African utilities.

What does “Single buyer” mean?

Independent power producers build plants and sell their output under long-term contracts to one designated state buyer, usually the national utility, which runs the grid and sells to consumers.

References reviewed 2026-09-29. Logos are each organisation’s own site icon, shown to identify it. Selected organisations, not an exhaustive list of licence holders.

Browse the worldwide operator directory
ELECTRICITY IN 2024

How Uganda generates electricity

Electricity generated5.8 TWh
Renewable share97.1%
Low-carbon share97.1%
Carbon intensity58.5 gCO₂e/kWh

Electricity mix 2024

Annual generation by source · terawatt-hours (TWh)

Hydro5 TWh
Wind0 TWh
Solar0.17 TWh
Bioenergy0.47 TWh
Other renewables0 TWh
Nuclear0 TWh
Coal0 TWh
Gas0 TWh
Other fossil0.17 TWh

Missing categories are labelled “No data”. Rounding can cause small differences from the reported total.

Source: Ember (2026), processed by Our World in Data · CC BY 4.0 · Snapshot 24 April 2026. Method & download details.

Explore trends & country comparisons

Geography and data notes

Uganda is in Eastern Africa. Its landlocked geography makes cross-border connections an important part of its regional setting. This profile connects country reference information with the historical station inventory and reported electricity generation.

Capital
Kampala
Languages
English, Swahili
Region
Eastern Africa

Geographic reference: Countries geographic database (ODbL). Boundaries and names are for orientation; language listings are introductory, not exhaustive. Banner map: Natural Earth boundaries (public domain) with this atlas’s station records.

The source inventory contains 11 records for Uganda. Select a fuel in the map to explore where its stations are located, then open a record to inspect reported capacity and provenance.

Inventory coverage

11 source records. 0 reported operational in their source snapshot; this is not live status.

11 lack an owner/operator; 11 lack a commissioning year.

Coverage, dates & exclusions
THE GENERATION INVENTORY

List of power plants in Uganda

Open country map

Browse 11 source records, ordered by reported capacity. Ownership and operating status describe the source snapshot; they may have changed. Missing information is shown explicitly.

11 matching records · showing 11

24 MW
Owner in source
Not reported
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
Not reported
Source status
Operating status unverified
Wiki-Solar · historical recordDetails & map

Soroti

Solar
10 MW
Owner in source
Not reported
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
Not reported
Source status
Operating status unverified
Wiki-Solar · historical recordDetails & map

Tororo

Solar
10 MW
Owner in source
Not reported
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
Not reported
Source status
Operating status unverified
Wiki-Solar · historical recordDetails & map

MW measures rated capacity, not electricity generated. Records may describe units, installations, projects or whole complexes. Review inventory coverage and licenses. Download this country’s records.