WRI — Global Power Plant Database
Historical global baseline. Replaced in the covered Swiss, British, Norwegian, Danish and Irish sectors by the official inventories below. Operating status unverified.
CC BY 4.0 ↗A global baseline, improved with official national inventories. See who published each record, how recent it is, and what is still missing.
We use one primary inventory for each covered country and sector. UK REPD replaces WRI renewables, waste and storage; Swiss SFOE data replaces the Swiss WRI inventory; NVE replaces Norwegian hydro, storage and wind; ENS and SEAI supply Danish and Irish wind records. Individually cited operator specifications add records for smaller systems. Other countries and uncovered sectors retain the historical WRI baseline.
This replaces 3,188 older records with 19,735 sourced records. We do not add both inventories together or guess matches between similarly named plants. Replacement can omit older stations outside the newer source’s scope; it is not a claim of completeness.
Counts mix source-defined plants, projects, individual turbines and registered installations. They are not counts of unique generating sites. Capacity is rated size, not current generation. Missing fields remain “Not reported”. National electricity charts use a separate Ember / Our World in Data series.
The directory includes every country and territory in our geographic reference, even when an inventory is missing. Download the European country audit and worldwide gap list.
Historical global baseline. Replaced in the covered Swiss, British, Norwegian, Danish and Irish sectors by the official inventories below. Operating status unverified.
CC BY 4.0 ↗Operational renewable, waste and storage projects in the July 2026 release. REPD tracks projects above 150 kW; projects below 1 MW before 2021 may be missing. Proposed and decommissioned projects are excluded.
Open Government Licence v3.0 ↗Registered operational non-hydro installations of at least 150 kW. Smaller rooftop systems are excluded. The source has no station names or owners: municipality, technology and register ID form a descriptive label. kW converted to MW; LV95 coordinates converted to WGS84.
Open use, attribution required ↗Hydropower inventory covering plants of at least 300 kW. Latest technical year in the downloaded file: 2025, despite older catalog-page metadata. Includes normal, reduced and rebuilding status, excludes construction-only and pump-only entries. Capacity is maximum electrical generator output, not turbine mechanical power. Includes cross-border plants assigned to the Swiss inventory; capacity describes the installation, not the Swiss ownership share.
Open use, attribution required ↗Plants reported in operation, joined by NVE plant ID to NVE's geographic layer. Pump-only facilities and records without a matching mapped location are excluded. Mean annual generation is a modelled 1991–2020 reference-period value, not measured output this year.
NLOD / CC BY 3.0 Norway ↗One manually reviewed station-complex record, not a complete Maltese inventory. The operator's historical page reports 537.8 MW, including standby units. Site coordinate from Wikidata Q1786082 (CC0); no unit locations inferred. Current capacity and operating status are unverified.
Individually cited factual summary; source text not republished ↗Operating wind farms only; joined to the NVE geographic layer by installation number. Owner, turbine count and nameplate MW come from NVE. Unmatched locations excluded. Normal-year production is a modelled estimate, not measured output.
NLOD / CC BY 3.0 Norway ↗Connected and energised wind-farm connection records, June 2022. May include extensions rather than distinct farms. Source coordinates can locate the connection substation outside a farm. Missing installed MW stays unknown; maximum export capacity (MEC) is shown separately and is not substituted for installed capacity. Current status is unverified.
CC BY 4.0 ↗Individual turbines above 25 kW with coordinates and no recorded disconnection date in the downloaded workbook. The download page labels this August 2026, but its linked workbook is titled Historical wind data and production columns end in 2022; current status is therefore unverified. Descriptive municipality/turbine-ID labels are not wind-farm names. Historical ETRS89 UTM32 coordinates (including Bornholm in this file) converted to WGS84; kW converted to MW. Manufacturer is not treated as owner.
Free reproduction with attribution under ENS data policy ↗One manually reviewed pumped-storage station, not a complete national inventory. The operator gives two 7.5 MW turbine ratings; net electrical MW is not supplied. Approximate site location from Wikidata Q20830816 (CC0).
Individually cited factual summary; source text not republished ↗One manually reviewed hydropower complex, not a complete national inventory. Capacity remains unknown because recent FEDA reporting uses apparent-power MVA, which cannot be substituted for electrical MW. Approximate site coordinate from Wikidata Q19902246 (CC0).
Individually cited factual summary; source text not republished ↗One manually reviewed standby complex, not a complete Jersey inventory. Includes diesel engines and gas turbines; current aggregate station MW is not stated on the operator page and remains unknown. Approximate site coordinate from Wikidata Q5994970 (CC0).
Individually cited factual summary; source text not republished ↗Individually reviewed Botnur and Eidi hydropower stations using operator nameplate specifications. Site coordinates from Wikidata (CC0). These two records are not a full Faroese inventory.
Individually cited factual summary; source text not republished ↗One reviewed wind farm: six turbines rated 2.3 MW each, aggregated to 13.8 MW. Operator facts and CC0 Wikidata representative farm coordinate. Not all Aland generation.
Individually cited factual summary; source text not republished ↗One reviewed complex record. Longyearbyen moved from coal to diesel in October 2023. Current aggregate electrical MW is not verified. Location is the Norwegian Environment Agency mapped energy-works point, not exact individual diesel-unit coordinates. Jan Mayen and other Svalbard settlements are not covered.
Individually cited factual summary; source text not republished ↗One reviewed CCGT block rated 88 MW by its operator, commissioned 2003. Excludes adjacent diesel units from that MW figure. Location from NESO Capacity Market Register, SC 367 756 at 100-metre precision, not inferred from a street address. Supported by National Energy SO Open Data.
Operator facts individually summarized; NESO coordinates under NESO Open Licence ↗One reviewed rooftop photovoltaic installation, commissioned 2008 and described by the Governorate infrastructure director in a 2020 official interview. Electrical MW remains unknown in the linked source. Wikidata building coordinate is an approximate rooftop location. The cross-border building is associated here with Vatican supply; this is not a boundary claim.
Individually cited factual summary; source text not republished ↗One individually reviewed commercial rooftop installation, not a complete San Marino inventory. The owner reports 330 kWp DC peak rating, not AC export capacity. Coordinate from the owner-published location page represents the business site, not the array outline.
Individually cited factual summary; source text not republished ↗One individually reviewed waste-to-energy plant, Monaco's only mapped electricity generator in this directory; rooftop solar is not included. Capacity is the operator's 2,600 kW alternator rating. Site coordinate is the centroid of the OpenStreetMap building outline (way 836387059, ODbL).
Individually cited factual summary; source text not republished ↗Named power=plant features inside each country/territory profile that has no official or WRI inventory. Unnamed features (often rooftop or single generators) are excluded. Fuel from plant:source; capacity only from explicit plant:output:electricity tags. Community-mapped, not an official census; current operation unverified. The adapted records are available under ODbL in /data/territory-plants-odbl.json.
Open Database License 1.0 (ODbL) ↗Power-station items located in uncovered territories, with coordinates, not dissolved or ended, and not already represented by a linked or nearby OpenStreetMap record. Capacity is not imported. Current operation unverified.
CC0 1.0 ↗Download coverage data, input checksums, import exclusions or combined provenance. Source thresholds and publication dates differ; these counts must not be used to rank national electricity production.