Power StationsWORLDWIDETHE GLOBAL EDITION 01
Map of 15 power plants in Zambia, coloured by fuel and sized by capacity
← Country directoryZMB / COUNTRY PROFILE

Power plants in Zambia

15 power-plant records · 2,689 MW reported capacity

  • Oil 47%
  • Hydro 33%
  • Biomass 7%
Explore Zambia on the map

Zambia at a glance

Power-plant records
15
Reported capacity
2,689 MW
Renewable electricity (2024)
87.5%
Most records
Oil, Hydro
Grid operator
ZESCO
Capital
Lusaka

Records by technology

Counts records, not generation share · coverage & dates

Reported capacity is the rated size of the listed installations, not electricity being produced now. Source dates and coverage differ, so newer facilities may be absent and historical records may remain.

How electricity works in Zambia

Vertically integrated utilityOne utility does everything

Hydropower from Kariba and Kafue dominates; the 2024 drought caused severe load-shedding.

  1. GenerationState utility
  2. TransmissionState utility
  3. DistributionState utility
  4. CustomersGovernment-set tariffs

Who regulates

  • ERBEnergy regulator

Who controls the grid

State-owned ZESCO runs generation, transmission and distribution.

Markets & power exchanges

No power exchange: the utility produces or buys electricity and sells it at set tariffs.

Regional grid

  • Southern African Power PoolRegional grid

    Member of the Southern African Power Pool, which links national utilities across southern Africa and runs regional day-ahead and intraday electricity markets.

What does “Vertically integrated utility” mean?

A single, usually state-owned utility generates, transmits and distributes electricity. Prices are set or approved by the government or a regulator rather than by a market.

References reviewed 2026-09-29. Logos are each organisation’s own site icon, shown to identify it. Selected organisations, not an exhaustive list of licence holders.

Browse the worldwide operator directory
ELECTRICITY IN 2024

How Zambia generates electricity

Electricity generated19.7 TWh
Renewable share87.5%
Low-carbon share87.5%
Carbon intensity119.7 gCO₂e/kWh

Electricity mix 2024

Annual generation by source · terawatt-hours (TWh)

Hydro17 TWh
Wind0 TWh
Solar0.17 TWh
Bioenergy0.08 TWh
Other renewables0 TWh
Nuclear0 TWh
Coal2.1 TWh
Gas0 TWh
Other fossil0.34 TWh

Missing categories are labelled “No data”. Rounding can cause small differences from the reported total.

Source: Ember (2026), processed by Our World in Data · CC BY 4.0 · Snapshot 24 April 2026. Method & download details.

Explore trends & country comparisons

Geography and data notes

Zambia is in Eastern Africa. Its landlocked geography makes cross-border connections an important part of its regional setting. This profile connects country reference information with the historical station inventory and reported electricity generation.

Capital
Lusaka
Languages
English
Region
Eastern Africa

Geographic reference: Countries geographic database (ODbL). Boundaries and names are for orientation; language listings are introductory, not exhaustive. Banner map: Natural Earth boundaries (public domain) with this atlas’s station records.

The source inventory contains 15 records for Zambia. Select a fuel in the map to explore where its stations are located, then open a record to inspect reported capacity and provenance.

Inventory coverage

15 source records. 0 reported operational in their source snapshot; this is not live status.

1 lack an owner/operator; 12 lack a commissioning year.

Coverage, dates & exclusions
THE GENERATION INVENTORY

List of power plants in Zambia

Open country map

Browse 15 source records, ordered by reported capacity. Ownership and operating status describe the source snapshot; they may have changed. Missing information is shown explicitly.

Published selection: 12 records. JavaScript loads the full searchable inventory.

300 MW
Owner in source
Maamba Collieries
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
2016
Source status
Operating status unverified
GCPT · historical recordDetails & map

Kafue

Solar
47.5 MW
Owner in source
Not reported
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
Not reported
Source status
Operating status unverified
Wiki-Solar · historical recordDetails & map

MW measures rated capacity, not electricity generated. Records may describe units, installations, projects or whole complexes. Review inventory coverage and licenses. Download this country’s records.