Power StationsWORLDWIDETHE GLOBAL EDITION 01
Map of 45 power plants in Morocco, coloured by fuel and sized by capacity
← Country directoryMAR / COUNTRY PROFILE

Power plants in Morocco

45 power-plant records · 8,698 MW reported capacity

  • Hydro 40%
  • Wind 24%
  • Oil 11%
Explore Morocco on the map

Morocco at a glance

Power-plant records
45
Reported capacity
8,698 MW
Renewable electricity (2024)
24.4%
Most records
Hydro, Wind
Capital
Rabat

Reported capacity is the rated size of the listed installations, not electricity being produced now. Source dates and coverage differ, so newer facilities may be absent and historical records may remain.

How electricity works in Morocco

Single buyerOne state buyer, private generators

Coal, gas, wind and solar (including Noor Ouarzazate) supply power; cables link Morocco to Spain.

  1. GenerationState utility + private producers
  2. TransmissionOne state buyer
  3. DistributionUtility networks
  4. CustomersRegulated tariffs

Who regulates

  • ANREEnergy regulator

Who controls the grid

State-owned ONEE runs transmission and buys power; municipal companies distribute in big cities.

Markets & power exchanges

No open power exchange: producers sell to the single buyer under long-term contracts.

Regional grid

  • COMELEC · Maghreb gridRegional grid

    Member of COMELEC, the Maghreb Electricity Committee; North African grids are linked to each other and, through Morocco and Spain, to Europe.

What does “Single buyer” mean?

Independent power producers build plants and sell their output under long-term contracts to one designated state buyer, usually the national utility, which runs the grid and sells to consumers.

References reviewed 2026-09-29. Logos are each organisation’s own site icon, shown to identify it. Selected organisations, not an exhaustive list of licence holders.

Browse the worldwide operator directory
ELECTRICITY IN 2024

How Morocco generates electricity

Electricity generated42.4 TWh
Renewable share24.4%
Low-carbon share24.4%
Carbon intensity594.8 gCO₂e/kWh

Electricity mix 2024

Annual generation by source · terawatt-hours (TWh)

Hydro0.81 TWh
Wind7.1 TWh
Solar2.4 TWh
Bioenergy0.04 TWh
Other renewables0 TWh
Nuclear0 TWh
Coal26.2 TWh
Gas4.3 TWh
Other fossil1.5 TWh

Missing categories are labelled “No data”. Rounding can cause small differences from the reported total.

Source: Ember (2026), processed by Our World in Data · CC BY 4.0 · Snapshot 24 April 2026. Method & download details.

Explore trends & country comparisons

Geography and data notes

Morocco is in Northern Africa. Its coastal or island geography provides a different setting for electricity infrastructure from inland systems. This profile connects country reference information with the historical station inventory and reported electricity generation.

Capital
Rabat
Languages
Arabic, Berber
Region
Northern Africa

Geographic reference: Countries geographic database (ODbL). Boundaries and names are for orientation; language listings are introductory, not exhaustive. Banner map: Natural Earth boundaries (public domain) with this atlas’s station records.

The source inventory contains 45 records for Morocco. Select a fuel in the map to explore where its stations are located, then open a record to inspect reported capacity and provenance.

Inventory coverage

45 source records. 0 reported operational in their source snapshot; this is not live status.

10 lack an owner/operator; 5 lack a commissioning year.

Coverage, dates & exclusions
THE GENERATION INVENTORY

List of power plants in Morocco

Open country map

Browse 45 source records, ordered by reported capacity. Ownership and operating status describe the source snapshot; they may have changed. Missing information is shown explicitly.

Published selection: 12 records. JavaScript loads the full searchable inventory.

Owner in source
Office National de Electricite (ONE) Sepco III
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
2002
Source status
Operating status unverified
GCPT · historical recordDetails & map
Owner in source
Office National de Electricite et de Eau Potable
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
1986
Source status
Operating status unverified
GCPT · historical recordDetails & map

MW measures rated capacity, not electricity generated. Records may describe units, installations, projects or whole complexes. Review inventory coverage and licenses. Download this country’s records.