Power StationsWORLDWIDETHE GLOBAL EDITION 01
Map of 15 power plants in the DR Congo, coloured by fuel and sized by capacity
← Country directoryCOD / COUNTRY PROFILE

Power plants in the DR Congo

15 power-plant records · 3,057 MW reported capacity

  • Hydro 87%
  • Gas 7%
  • Oil 7%
Explore DR Congo on the map

DR Congo at a glance

Power-plant records
15
Reported capacity
3,057 MW
Renewable electricity (2024)
100%
Most records
Hydro, Gas
Grid operator
SNEL
Capital
Kinshasa

Largest listed power plants

  1. 1Inga II1,775 MW
  2. 2Nseke260 MW
  3. 3Nzilo228 MW
  4. 4Zongo II150 MW
  5. 5Imboulou120 MW
Full list of power plants in the DR Congo ↓

Records by technology

Counts records, not generation share · coverage & dates

Reported capacity is the rated size of the listed installations, not electricity being produced now. Source dates and coverage differ, so newer facilities may be absent and historical records may remain.

How electricity works in the DR Congo

Vertically integrated utilityOne utility does everything

The Inga dams supply Kinshasa and mining in Katanga; only about one in five people has electricity.

  1. GenerationState utility
  2. TransmissionState utility
  3. DistributionState utility
  4. CustomersGovernment-set tariffs

Who regulates

  • AREEnergy regulator

Who controls the grid

State-owned SNEL runs most of the grid.

Markets & power exchanges

Regional grid

  • Southern African Power PoolRegional grid

    Member of the Southern African Power Pool, which links national utilities across southern Africa and runs regional day-ahead and intraday electricity markets.

  • Central African Power PoolRegional grid

    Member of the Central African Power Pool (PEAC), the ECCAS body planning interconnection between central African grids.

What does “Vertically integrated utility” mean?

A single, usually state-owned utility generates, transmits and distributes electricity. Prices are set or approved by the government or a regulator rather than by a market.

References reviewed 2026-09-29. Logos are each organisation’s own site icon, shown to identify it. Selected organisations, not an exhaustive list of licence holders.

Browse the worldwide operator directory
ELECTRICITY IN 2024

How DR Congo generates electricity

Electricity generated15.9 TWh
Renewable share100%
Low-carbon share100%
Carbon intensity27.6 gCO₂e/kWh

Electricity mix 2024

Annual generation by source · terawatt-hours (TWh)

Hydro13.4 TWh
Wind0 TWh
Solar2.5 TWh
Bioenergy0.01 TWh
Other renewables0 TWh
Nuclear0 TWh
Coal0 TWh
Gas0 TWh
Other fossil0 TWh

Missing categories are labelled “No data”. Rounding can cause small differences from the reported total.

Source: Ember (2026), processed by Our World in Data · CC BY 4.0 · Snapshot 24 April 2026. Method & download details.

Explore trends & country comparisons

Geography and data notes

DR Congo is in Middle Africa. Its coastal or island geography provides a different setting for electricity infrastructure from inland systems. This profile connects country reference information with the historical station inventory and reported electricity generation.

Capital
Kinshasa
Languages
French, Kikongo, Lingala, Tshiluba, Swahili
Region
Middle Africa

Geographic reference: Countries geographic database (ODbL). Boundaries and names are for orientation; language listings are introductory, not exhaustive. Banner map: Natural Earth boundaries (public domain) with this atlas’s station records.

The source inventory contains 15 records for DR Congo. Select a fuel in the map to explore where its stations are located, then open a record to inspect reported capacity and provenance.

Inventory coverage

15 source records. 0 reported operational in their source snapshot; this is not live status.

6 lack an owner/operator; 2 lack a commissioning year.

Coverage, dates & exclusions
THE GENERATION INVENTORY

List of power plants in the DR Congo

Open country map

Browse 15 source records, ordered by reported capacity. Ownership and operating status describe the source snapshot; they may have changed. Missing information is shown explicitly.

Published selection: 12 records. JavaScript loads the full searchable inventory.

Inga II

Hydro
1,775 MW
Owner in source
Not reported
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
1982
Source status
Operating status unverified
GEODB · historical recordDetails & map

Nseke

Hydro
260 MW
Owner in source
Societe Nationale D'elec
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
1956
Source status
Operating status unverified
GEODB · historical recordDetails & map
120 MW
Owner in source
Société National d\'Electricité (SNE)
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
2011
Source status
Operating status unverified
GEODB · historical recordDetails & map

Zongo 1

Hydro
75 MW
Owner in source
Societe Nationale D'elec
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
1945
Source status
Operating status unverified
GEODB · historical recordDetails & map
74 MW
Owner in source
Soc Nationale D'energie
Operator in source
Not reported
Commissioned
1979
Source status
Operating status unverified
GEODB · historical recordDetails & map

MW measures rated capacity, not electricity generated. Records may describe units, installations, projects or whole complexes. Review inventory coverage and licenses. Download this country’s records.